Because reading is hot.

I’ve not finished any of the books I listed in my last post. I told you I am experiencing a bit of ADD when it comes to reading so far in 2011, right? I did manage to finish a book, but it’s not on the list. It was the 3rd book in the Flavia De Luce series by Alan Bradley A Red Herring Without Mustard, which was just as good as the first two in the series. Flavia is still precociously solving mysteries and loving chemistry. She’s still 11.  That said, Red Herring and the rest are lovely cozy mysteries with a heroine you can root for. I had pre-ordered that book months ago, and forgot about it and then it showed up in the mail. Which, as we know, is AWESOME! Who doesn’t love getting stuff in the mail that you forgot about? It’s like sending yourself a present. Really.

And now that I’m done with Flavia, I am not reading any of those books listed below either, instead I’ve got a book called The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley. Which came used from abebooks.com and (The Book Man). And speaking of surprise presents that you get in the mail, The Winter Sea was wrapped in a page from a magazine with an image of Prince Charles kissing Princess Diana. Lovely touch. The Winter Sea came recommended on a number of lists. So, thanks  Book Man. You can’t get that kind of awesome in an electronic format.  No sir. Please keep your Kindle over there, mmmkay.

The Book Man also has Bookstore Dogs which makes me want to road trip it to Canadia.

Leave a Reply

