Because reading is hot.

Super Mon’s Last Stand

Where have you been? I’ve been hanging out with my kid, who, as many of you know, busted up his leg real bad which required two surgeries (the third is in two weeks), an external fixator and pins, a week in the hospital, and is now homebound in a wheelchair for two months while he heals. I returned to work, and much else is back to normal, but I feel a like the high of stress of all that happened is not fully diminished enough for me to relax and sit down with some tea and a book. Winter is typically marathon reading time for me. I’m missing it, which may be a clue that I might be ready to start again.

No, I haven’t gotten much reading (or god forbid, writing) done. I know this will pass. I am, after all, Super Mon, a SUPER READER. In the meanwhile,  I’ve begun the process of amassing my book pile next to the bed for when my concentration returns. I’m not even going to bother trying to promise that I’ll be a regular blogger. I mean, I hope I will be, but I wasn’t doing much blogging before The Kid’s epic fall. What are you reading? Anything good? I’ve got these books in the hopper:

Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson (Is this a good book? It’s been on a lot of lists last year. I don’t know if it’s my kind of story, but I’m checking it out anyway)

Kitchen Confidential by the indomitable Anthony Bourdain

Zen Wrapped in Karma Dipped in Chocolate: A Trip Through Death, Sex, Divorce, and Spiritual Celebrity in Search of the True Dharma by Brad Warner

Buddhism For Dummies by Jonathan Landaw and Stephan Bodian

The Everything Zen Book: Achieve Inner Calm and Peace of Mind Through Meditation, Simple Living, and Harmony – by Jacky Sach and Jessica Faust

and

Juliet, Naked by Nick Hornby (which I intended to read last year, but didn’t get to it)

Comments on: "Super Mon’s Last Stand" (4)

  1. I have The Fall waiting for me (the sequel to The Strain), Water for Elephants, and Haunted…and many more sprinkled about the house.

    • Oh HAI! Thank you for your comment J1!! I miss you! I checked out The Fall from the library but couldn’t bring myself to read it!! We’ll have to talk about Water for Elephants when you’re done! Yay Books!

    • OMG – I need to read “The Fall!” I think enough time has passed that I can tackle it. I’m about to read “Little Bee,” “Shadowfever” and “Life on the Refrigerator Door.” “Water for Elephants” is awesome, too! I want to read it again.

  2. Super Mon said:

    Ooh. Let’s get together for food and wine and talk about books! It’s a novel idea! Heh. I miss you guys!

Leave a Reply

