Because reading is hot.

Hot Reads!

The Hotties around these parts have impressive Summer reading lists ! I sent an email around asking for titles of books they’re planning to read, or books they recommend, and they came through with flying colors. You know why? Reading is hot! That’s why. I put my list in there too. Right now, I am on book #10 of the Sookie Stackhouse Mysteries (True Blood) and they are PERFECT for Summer. I realized that I was kind of a literature snooty pants, which is not conducive to the Hottie Creed of open-mindedness and egalitarianism for all, and I am also kind of anti-vampire genre. But I do love Sookie and her little Southern fairy self. And, the vampires are FOXY, unlike the vamps and their disgusting white goo (seriously)  in The Strain. In general, I have two issues with these books. One) I don’t care about the werewolves of Shreveport, and I wish they would go away and leave Sookie alone, and two) they are super fast reads, and I basically read the 10 books in the series since May and now there aren’t any more. 😦

In any case, find out what some of the hotties are planning on reading between now and September after the jump (we’ll save the recommendations for another day):

Elizabeth

  1. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon
  2. The 19th Wife by David Ebershoff
  3. The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls
  4. The Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyer (will this cost me my membership papers?)

psst. I am not naming names here, but I believe several book club members have read the Twilight series. I’m not one of them, but since she confessed, I think we should cut her some slack.

Rosie

  1. Frankenstein: City of Night by Dean Koontz (Book 2 in the Frankenstein series)
  2. Shadowfever by Karen Moning (Book 5 in the Fever series)
  3. Midnight Crystal by Jayne Castle (Book 7 in the series)
  4. Nevermore by Dean Koontz / Keith Champagne
  5. Dexter by Design: A Novel by Jeff Lindsay (Book 4 in the Dexter series)

Mon

  1. Parisians: An Adventure History of Paris, Graham Robb
  2. Hotel on The Corner of Bitter and Sweet, Jamie Ford
  3. The Financial Lives of Poets, Jess Walters
  4. The Housekeeper and The Professor, Yoko Ogawa
  5. The Imperfectionists, Tom Rachman
  6. Norwegian Wood, Haruki Murakami
  7. Shiver, Maggie Stiefvater

Steve

  1. The Devil Rides Out, Dennis Wheatley
  2. The Killer Inside Me, Jim Thompson
  3. Kakfa–Graphic Novel, by R. Crumb and David Zane Mairowitz
  4. Let it Be 33 1/3, by Colin Meloy

Irene

  1. The Baby Book by Dr. William Sears.
  2. Additionally, I know Irene is reading What to Expect When You’re Expecting because I saw it at her house. We are very excited for the arrival of Baby Girl Peterson (aka Otie) so we can welcome her to the book club.

Jayne

  1. P.G. Wodehouse’s Jeeves and Wooster on audio book
  2. And a revisiting of My Antonia by Willa Cather may be in store for our Jayne too.

Andria

  1. The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Nest by Steig Larsson (obviously)
  2. Prodigal Son (Dean Koontz’s Frankenstein, #1) by Dean Koontz
  3. Seven Deadly Wonders (Mass Market Paperback) by Matthew Reilly
  4. The Imperfectionists (Hardcover) by Tom Rachman
  5. What Rhymes with Bastard? by Linda Robertson
  6. ArchEnemy (The Looking Glass Wars, #3) by Frank Beddor
  7. Mr. Peanut by Adam Ross

Tracy

  1. Sizzling 16 (Stephanie Plum #16) by Janet Evanovich
    The Stephanie Plum series is the only book series that not only make me smile while reading, but laugh out loud at inappropriate times in public places.  The Jersey Shore cast has nothing on Stephanie, Grandma Mazur and the rest of the Plum characters.  Inept bounty hunting around Jersey, guns in cookie jars, hookers turned file clerks and  two real hot men, Morelli & Ranger, (::ahem:: sorry Jacob & Edward) has made me look forward to the third Tuesday in June for over 10 years.
  2. I Was Told There’d be Cake by Sloane Crosley
    I just realized it’s been tagged under “Currently Reading” in my goodreads for over a year.  Also, because when I read the first chapter, last summer, I felt like I wrote it.  Can’t wait to finally dive in and finish it.
  3. Geek Love by Katherine Dunn
    I can’t get over how many book / reading websites and lists where I’ve seen multiple commenters have gushed about this book.  Excited to soon be in the know.  Expect a book club submission by the end of summer 😉
  4. The Girl w/ the Dragon Tattoo, Maps & Legends, The Strain, Another Bullshit Night In Suck City
    -Because this book club has good taste and I want to catch up with everything you’ve read since I joined during Grimm’s.
  5. Fragment by Warren Fahy

Feel free to add your Summer reads in the comments section.


Comments on: "Hot Reads!" (6)

  1. I’m not drawn to the vampire genre either, but it does make the romance genre much more interesting and action filled for me! And no worries Elizabeth, I’m in the club and will proudly state I’ve read the Twilight Saga more than once and am a total wolf girl :).

    The Peters girls have Koontz fever! Let me know how the series is and I’ll probably have to add that to my summer reading list.

    Thanks for all the great ideas for books to read everyone!

  2. Nice selections everyone! I might have to add a few of these to my own reading list.

    Also, Elizabeth, if it makes you feel better I’ll admit that Harry Potter did nothing for me, I hated the Sookie books, and I loved the Twilight Saga (I’ll own up to being Team Edward, too). I hear guffaws a mile away… 😉

    At least I can trust that our little collective would never turn a nose up at any book or opinion–it’s just not the Hottie way.

  3. I agree, these are some rocking lists!

    Andria, can you see if you can work your magic on Tracy’s list. I was having issues last night with the cutting and the pasting and the re-formatting in the wyzy wyg. It’s not supposed to look like that!

  4. Thanks to Andria, we have a brand new look. Isn’t it pretty??

  5. supermon said:

    This is from my friend JJ.

    My favorite read so far this summer has been
    INTO THE BEAUTIFUL NORTH by LUIS ALBERTO URREA author of The Hummingbird’s Daughter (read that twice – which is usually against my rules)
    Also the MEMORY KEEPER’S Daughter by Kim Edwards
    Also Got my nose in the Roald Dahl Omnibus ( I love his short stories )
    Winter Garden by Kristin Hannah and
    Plague of Doves by Louise Erdrich
    There are other oldies on the list These were just the more current favorites. Happy Hammocking!

Leave a Reply

