Because reading is hot.

What are you reading, anyway?

The Book Club is reading The Girl with The Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson for March. I finished it in record time. It was that good. I was absolutely hooked on this book. I love the anti-heroine, Salander and her unlikely partner Blomkvist. I read the second book in Larsson’s Millennium series The Girl Who Played With Fire last weekend. Heart pounding suspense. Salander is up to her eyeballs, literally. If possible, it’s even better than the first book. The third book, The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest is coming out in the U.S. in May!!! I have it pre-ordered from Amazon. Sadly, Larsson died before he could see the books published and before he could write more about Salander and Blomkvist!

Because these books got me hooked on the mystery/suspense/modern detective novel, I just picked up Tana French’s In The Woods, which is also a series and supposed to be excellent. I tried to dig in last night, but The Kid required a bath, and some stories, and some snuggles, and then I was out of it.

And, speaking of books I am personally reading… Remember, I decided to read 40 books this year, to mark this very special year of turning 40? I think I am doing OK in my endeavor, but I haven’t been writing about it. Stay tuned this week, for mini reviews on The Year of Reading 40 Books.

Comments on: "What are you Reading Right Now?" (3)

  1. Have not read the afformentioned book, however have read “Into the Woods.” I expected more, however I did love the “sequel” to this called “The Likeness.” It kind of reminded me of Donna Tartt’s “The Secret History.” A wonderful read!

    • Thanks for the comment, Nikki! Both The Likeness by French, and The Secret History by Tartt are on my list. I read a seriously well-written but totally creeptastic book called Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn a couple of years ago which I heartily recommend. There is a follow-up called Dark Places: A Novel that I haven’t read, but might if I get up enough nerve.

      So, what are you reading now?

      • I just finished “My Sister’s Keeper.” I’d read it already but wanted to see if I’d change my mind about not wanting to see the movie. Nothing changed. Cameron Diaz just wouldn’t work for me in that role. It is a good book though, albeit heart-wrenching.

Leave a Reply

