Because reading is hot.

Books 4 Hotties believes wholeheartedly in the power of books as life-changing entities.

We’ve been thinking a lot lately about which books have changed our lives, or which books we return to if we want to read something solely for comfort. Which books are like, “WHOA!” and which books are like, “Ahhh.” We want to know what you think. We came up with a quiz, which isn’t really a quiz, but more of a poll, because Books 4 Hotties wants to know what we’re missing!

Questions:

1) Is there a particular book, or set of books that you re-read from time to time? Titles please

2) What are your all-time favorite books, and why? (Maybe limit to 5 titles)

3) Has a book changed your life? If so, which one(s)?

4) Has there been a book that you thought you would LOVE and it turned out to be pfft?

5) Do you ever loan your books to friends?

6) Are there books that you think everyone should read?

7) What book would you live in, if you could?

Comments on: "Hotties, Lend Me Your Ear, or Your Books" (8)

  1. 1) Is there a particular book, or set of books that you re-read from time to time?
    I must admit, I’ve never read a book twice. I own plenty and love them dearly, but I keep buying new ones that take up all my time.

    2) What are your all-time favorite books, and why?
    Hmm. J-Pod, because it’s creative and ridiculous. Bridget Jones’ Diary, because it’s hilarious. Wicked, because it’s a reinvention with a purpose. And YA cherished reads: Lord of the Flies, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland/Through the Looking Glass, and The Outsiders.

    3) Has a book changed your life? If so, which one(s)?
    Ordinary People. It’s tragic, beautiful, and moving.

    4) Has there been a book that you thought you would LOVE and it turned out to be pfft?
    The Catcher In The Rye. I get why it’s a classic, but it’s not my favorite.

    5) Do you ever loan your books to friends?
    All the time! I love sharing books, movies, etc.

    6) Are there books that you think everyone should read?
    Not really. If I like something I’ll recommend it to people, but I don’t think the “you must” stuff really works. It turns me off a bit to hype something up so much.

    7) What book would you live in, if you could?
    The Importance of Being Earnest. Yes, it’s technically a play, but I would live in anything Oscar Wilde wrote–so long as I was guaranteed as much wit & charm as the writer.

  2. Super Mon said:

    1) Is there a particular book, or set of books that you re-read from time to time? Titles please
    Yep. I have re-read plenty!I have re-read Harry Potter, 1-7 and listened to all the audio multiple times. I have also re-read The Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon 1-7 (I think) which is an outstanding series that includes time travel, war, famine, intrigue, spying, slavery, witchcraft, and SEX! Lot’s of it.

    2) What are your all-time favorite books, and why? (Maybe limit to 5 titles) Huh. I asked this question, and I honestly don’t think I can limit it to 5! The Outlander series, The Harry Potter series, Leif Enger’s Peace Like a River, Franny & Zooey by JD Salinger, Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen, Gone to Soldiers by Marge Piercy.

    3) Has a book changed your life? If so, which one(s)? The Diary of Anne Frank hands down changed my life and helped shaped me as a reader and a writer.

    4) Has there been a book that you thought you would LOVE and it turned out to be pfft?
    I recently readThe Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver. I was all set to love it, and I kind of got bored.

    5) Do you ever loan your books to friends?
    Yes, but I don’t do that much anymore. 3 of my co-workers all borrowed books over a year ago and they have yet to be returned.

    6) Are there books that you think everyone should read?
    No, but I am all for recommending what I love.

    7) What book would you live in, if you could?
    I might live in Outlander or Harry Potter or a Neil Gaiman book if it wasn’t too scary.

    • Oh! Jane Austen! ::hand slap:: What a sorry lass I am for leaving her off my list. Tack on any & all, but especially Mansfield Park.

  3. 1) Is there a particular book, or set of books that you re-read from time to time? Titles please.

    The Great Gatsby, The Old Man and the Sea, Winter of our Discontent, Collected stories of John Cheever, The Sun also Rises

    2) What are your all-time favorite books, and why? (Maybe limit to 5 titles)

    See above for list. Why? All the different eye images, the old man’s grace, its (dark, dark) darkness, the swimmer, road to hell paved with unbought stuffed dogs

    3) Has a book changed your life? If so, which one(s)?

    Not a book, but some of Hemingway’s sentences kick my ass.

    4) Has there been a book that you thought you would LOVE and it turned out to be pfft?

    I’m sure there was, but I must have blacked it out.

    5) Do you ever loan your books to friends?

    Why do you ask?

    6) Are there books that you think everyone should read?

    Not if I want to be beat up.

    7) What book would you live in, if you could?

    Does it make me a dork that I’d rather be better grounded in reality? I already spend too much time in my head.

  4. 1) Is there a particular book, or set of books that you re-read from time to time?
    I love re-reading books I usually go through all of my books every couple of years depending on my cravings, its kind of like re-watching movies for me. 🙂 Here are a couple of my go to books, The Seventh Scroll- Wilbur Smith, Seven Deadly Wonders- Matthew Reilly, Amazonia- James Rollins.

    2) What are your all-time favorite books, and why?
    Oh jeeze, I am not sure if I could identify any books as my all time favorites. to be honest I listed a few if my favorites in the first question.

    3) Has a book changed your life? If so, which one(s)?
    Hmmmm… there are a lot of books that make me think differently, but I don’t think any one book has ever changed my life.

    4) Has there been a book that you thought you would LOVE and it turned out to be pfft?
    I bought American Gods by Neil Gaiman and I thought I was going to love it, but I wasn’t able to make it more than half way through. Just not for me.

    5) Do you ever loan your books to friends?
    Sure, I love sharing… so long as I get them back. 🙂

    6) Are there books that you think everyone should read?
    Yes, the Jack West Jr books by Matthew Reilly (Seven Deadly Wonders / Six Sacred Stones / Five Greatest Warriors)

    7) What book would you live in, if you could?
    Hands down, the Neverending Story book 🙂

  5. Wolverine said:

    1) Is there a particular book, or set of books that you re-read from time to time? Titles please
    I re-read almost all my books: Lord of the Rings, the Beat poets, any poetry, tons of comics, tons of art history books

    2) What are your all-time favorite books, and why? (Maybe limit to 5 titles)
    Naked Lunch, by William S. Burroughs, Where the Wild Things Are, Who Needs Donuts?

    3) Has a book changed your life? If so, which one(s)?
    Lord of the Flies and The Catcher in The Rye

    4) Has there been a book that you thought you would LOVE and it turned out to be pfft?
    Stephen King’s The Stand– I loved it, but it was TOO long

    5) Do you ever loan your books to friends?
    Yes, and they never give them back.

    6) Are there books that you think everyone should read?
    Jack Kerouac’s On The Road

    7) What book would you live in, if you could?
    Ooh, good question! I had to think about this for a long time! The Hobbit or The Wizard of Oz.

  6. Charlisse said:

    1) Is there a particular book, or set of books that you re-read from time to time? Titles please
    I used to re-read Emily Brontë’s Wuthering Heights and Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice when I was younger. I haven’t had much time for re-reading in the past few years though. When I was a kid I used to re-read Frances Hodgson Burnett’s The Secret Garden a lot.

    2) What are your all-time favorite books, and why? (Maybe limit to 5 titles)
    So the three mentioned above are probably my lifetime favorites. I’ll throw in some contemporary and add Alice Munro’s Hateship, Friendship, Loveship, Courtship, Marriage or The View from Castle Rock. I love her short story “Carried Away,” which is in Open Secrets (but not the whole book necessarily). And to round out the list with some non-fiction, I’ll go with Joan Didion’s Slouching Towards Bethlehem.

    3) Has a book changed your life? If so, which one(s)?
    No, but I have read things that have made me re-examine the way I think of my life. Lately Alice Munro and Joan Didion have made me do that in shorter pieces. There’s also George Eliot’s Middlemarch, and Giorgio Bassani’s The Garden of the Finzi-Contini.

    4) Has there been a book that you thought you would LOVE and it turned out to be pfft?
    Not so far, but I’ve been really wanting to read this new Kazuo Ishiguro book and have heard disappointing things about it.

    5) Do you ever loan your books to friends?
    I did just yesterday!

    6) Are there books that you think everyone should read?
    I used to when I was younger, but now I just kind of accept that not everyone is going to appreciate the books I like in the way that I think they should.

    7) What book would you live in, if you could?
    When I was a kid I used to want to live in The Secret Garden. The fantastic mansion with hidden passages and secrets behind closed doors, playing on the moor with wild animals and eating cottage food, hanging around in a wild garden–it all sounded so great to me. Right now I kind of love the whole Harry Potter world.

    • supermon said:

      I just have to say thanks to my friend Charlisse, whom I miss very much, for adding your comments, which are fantastic!! I love Middlemarch, and The Secret Garden, and have been meaning to check out Alice Munro too! Keep coming back to the blog, and if you feel like lending your talented hand at writing a review or two, we would love to post it!

Leave a Reply

