Because reading is hot.

Abandon Shit!

Confession: Super Mon cannot get into Another Bullshit Night in Suck City. I keep trying! And, it’s not that it’s not interesting– I even like the prose-y style. It’s just DEPRESSING as all hell. I am not usually the type of reader who requires an upbeat story, or even an upbeat ending, but I am not feeling it for some reason. I read all these great reviews on it, we had a belabored, yet democratic, voting process, and it fits in our non-fiction category. But, every time I pick it up, I think about reading or doing something else. I don’t really want to analyze myself to death on this. We all know, as readers, if you’re not feeling it, it’s not going to happen.

I have options to offer: 1) You all go ahead and read the book and I will clean my bathtub as punishment and you will convince me that I should reconsider it with your praise of the book and astute observations about my general malaise. 2): Abandon all hope. Is anyone else in favor of abandoning this book for our Decmeber 5 meeting? If so, how many of you are with me? As a fall back, we could bring one book that we really, really love, and or a book that made us laugh to the meeting and talk about it.?!! (sheepishly shrugging shoulders)

I would be so relieved if you agreed with my betrayal–I am just not into this book right now!

Comments on: "Abandon Shit!" (8)

  1. DUMP IT!

  2. Also, this post should’ve been titled “Abandon Shit.”

  3. True. I will revise.

  4. I don’t care. Now I’ll never read it. To the bookshelf!

  5. jenny mcnamara-robinson said:

    I have not yet started it. It’s next on my list. but since 3 of the hotties have abandoned it, I am have no problem with this. I’ll try it sometime.

  6. i hadn’t even started…but i have no problem taking the hotties advice…so many books and so little time…agreed! abandon shit!!!

  7. I’ll probably give it a whirl (just because I’m kind of goofy like that), but probably not by Dec 5. šŸ˜‰

  8. All- give it a shot. I started reading it on the plane last night. I was trapped in the “limited recline” seat in the back of the plane. I had nowhere to go. I had to face the book. It took until about page 48 until I became invested in the characters. I believe I will be sticking with it.

Leave a Reply

