Because reading is hot.

Hotties Get Out The Vote!

Statue of LibertyHello Hotties, it’s your friendly flu-ridden friend. I  see we have some commentary on the book list! Yay! I have a request so we can get our November book picked sooner, rather than later. How about this?

Let’s do a modified Instant Run Off Voting in the spirit of the city of Minneapolis having it’s first IRV election yesterday. A definition of instant run-off voting from the wiki:

in which voters rank candidates in an order of preference. If no candidate is the first preference of a majority of voters, the candidate with the fewest number of first preference rankings is eliminated and that candidate’s ballots are redistributed at full value to the remaining candidates according to the next ranking on each ballot. This process is repeated until one candidate obtains a majority of votes among candidates not eliminated. The term “instant runoff” is used because the method is said to simulate a series of runoff elections tallied in rounds, as in an exhaustive ballot election.[1]

We do not have to be so complicated, however. Vote for your top three books in order of preference in the comment section of this post, or by sending books4hotties@gmail.com an email. Make sure you name the books in the order you would prefer. Some unbiased election judge/vote counter will tally up the votes, and the result will be posted on Friday so you can all go out and get the book.

Votes need to be in by Friday, Nov. 6.

 

For example– this would be mine:

1. Maps & Legends

2. Epileptic

3. Bullshit

Also, during my fevered state I came up with another BRILLIANT idea and it involves AN ASSIGNMENT!

This idea is to have a space on this lovely blog for book reviews by you hotties. Amy has graciously agreed to write and be in charge of this section of the blarg. But, please, everyone, take 20 minutes and write your thoughts down on a beloved book for starters! This seems like a great way to expand beyond our one book a month thing. Also, some hotties read 4-5 books a month and some only have time for one, and some sadly have time for none, reviews are a way to get us interested. I think starting with a book that you love, and that you want us to love, seems like a great place to start. As Hotties are all about L.O.V.E. Please send in 2 paragraphs for starters in a Word doc. to books4hotties.gmail.com and, we’ll post it!

Some writing hints: Include the title and the author, and the link. Think about what you do like, but also what you don’t. For example, in The Strain, I really enjoyed the suspense, but I didn’t like that the vampires weren’t HOT. They were not sexy! They were gross! Boo! But, also, the plot lines were rich, but I wanted them developed more. I also don’t know how I feel about vampires sucking the lives out of Holocaust victims. See?

Give examples of passages that are moving, hilarious, outrageous, etc. And, tell us why we should run out and get your book, now!

I have a lot of big ideas, the next one involves using the calendars here and in our gmail so that we know what’s happening around town such as readings, etc. If someone wants to volunteer to look for events, enter them in the calendar here on the blog and write them up so the hotties can be informed, then you would have my undying devotion.  I don’t want to scare you with my vision of hottness, but you realize I am making you all participate in more than just your average book club.

Comments on: "Hotties Get Out The Vote!" (22)

  1. Yes, I am into this whole review thing. And I’m gonna write one/some as soon as I recover. I may take a little while, but it’s gonna happen. In the mean time, my votes are for:

    1. Maps and Legends
    2. The Glass Castle
    3. Eating the Dinosaur

  2. Thank you, Amy. Sometimes writing when you’re sick provides untapped creativity….just sayin’. But, you just take your time, dearie…

    My votes are:
    1. Maps & Legends
    2: Epileptic
    3: Bullshit, etc.

  3. 1. bullshit
    2. the hippos
    3. arsonist

  4. Woo for books!
    Maps & Legends
    Warhol
    Dinosaurs

  5. 1: Hippos
    2: Shakespeare Wrote for Money
    3: Another Bullshit Night in Suck City

  6. 1. Hippos
    2. Bullshit
    3. Arsonist

    When are we picking one? I’m a one book at a time kind of gal and need something to read. Come on people, come on! 🙂

  7. Irene, did you not read? TOMORROW is the day we decide! Not everyone has voted yet! Also, I am sorry, but Arsonist is disqualified for this round as it’s fiction. My fault. I submitted it when I was fevered.

  8. Elizabeth voted on the other post. Here is what she says:
    Museum? Yes!
    Here is my vote:
    1) Glass Castle
    2) Maps and Legends
    3) Film Club

  9. Super Mon- forgive me, but I have forgotten how to read as it has taken so long to pick a new book. ha! I only jest. I’m feeling…shall we say..a bit surly today.

  10. jenny mcnamara-robinson said:

    1) Bullshit
    2) Glass Castles
    3) Eplileptic

  11. Jenny, didn’t you read Glass Castle already? If so, that disqualifies the book! Also, The Arsonist/New England… is disqualified because it’s fiction (sorry)–it does look good, however.

    Ah, well, the voting is getting complicated. Here is the tally so far, if we want to decide today so Irene can get a book, that’s fine with me:

    Maps & Legends: 3 1st place votes, 1 2nd place vote
    Another Bullshit Night in Suck City: A Memoir: 2 1st place votes, 1 2nd place vote and 2 3rd place votes (Most votes total–landing in 5 people’s lists)
    The Glass Castle: 1 1st place vote, 2 2nd place votes (disqualified if Jenny already read it)
    The Hippos Were Boiled in Their Tanks: 2 1st place votes, 1 2nd place vote

    So, it looks like Another Bullshit Night in Suck City gets the most votes total with Maps and Legends having the most #1s. You decide:

    Bullshit

    or

    Maps & Legends

  12. I’m down for Maps. (Have you seen the cover art?!)

  13. Another Bullshit Night in Suck City for me.

  14. You know what’s sad? I own Maps and Legends, although I haven’t read it yet. I haven’t read it yet because it is lost. That is sad. 😦

    My vote is for Bullshit Night in Suck City! ❤

  15. Can I just add how great Monica is for putting up with us all. xoxoxo

  16. Super Mon said:

    Aw. But, Irene… what are you choosing: Maps and Legends or Bullshit?

  17. Bullshit.

  18. Super Mon said:

    3 for Bullshit( Monica, Steve, Irene), and 2 for Maps and Legends (Amy, Andria) so far! Come on the rest of you!

  19. Am I the last hottie to vote?? I hope not 🙂

    1) The Supergirls: Fashion, Feminism, Fantasy, and the History of Comic Book Heroines by Mike Madrid
    2) Poplorica by Martin Smith
    3) Shakespeare Wrote For Money by Nick Hornby

  20. Rosie,
    Thanks for Voting. We have an overwhelming tie for Maps and Legends and Another Bullshit Night in Suck City. If you were to choose one of those, which one would it be?

  21. Super Mon said:

    Kara votes for Bullshit too!

  22. Also, I take it that Jenny is voting for BS since she, uh, voted for it up there. I missed it, sorry. Sue me.

Leave a Reply

