Because reading is hot.

Housekeeping for Hotties

Cleaning!Hello Hotties! You know what really blows? Besides my nose? Writing a whole post which I accidentally delete because my laptop keyboard is so sensitive. And, I was typing while lying down. Anyway, a bit of business: 1) We need to choose our November book. I have posted the sent in suggestions so far, below, and I think we should vote via blog or email since we’re not meeting until the 14th. 2) During our first meeting we agreed to alternate between fiction and non-fiction, which means since we read The Strain this month, we should technically be choosing a non-fiction title for November. However, the newest hotties didn’t know about this because we didn’t blog it and forgot to tell them. I told Steve, but he lives with me, and I made him submit non-fiction titles.  If the new hotties are cool with this rule, please save your fiction pieces until our December reading! and 3) Another rule we came up with is that we are only reading books that none of have read before. We all love books, and maybe we should pick a month or two where we share books that we have already read. However, that is what Good Reads is for, and I hope you’re all planning on getting on there because it is a book nerd’s dream come true, including cover art.

There are a lot of books here. I didn’t include every book we’ve already talked about. Some are included in the comments on the Future Ideas page, but some are ones that we all thought sounded interesting last time like Glass Castles by Jeanette Walls. Anyway, feel free to add in the comments other titles and go to bat for the book you really, really want to read:

Amy
Maps and Legends by Michael Chabon
How to Live with a Huge Penis by Richard Jacob (just wanted to see if you’re paying attention)
Eating the Dinosaur by Chuck Klosterman

Andria
Poplorica by Martin Smith
Who Is Mark Twain by Mark Twain
Shakespeare Wrote For Money by Nick Hornby
The Supergirls: Fashion, Feminism, Fantasy, and the History of Comic Book Heroines by Mike Madrid
Maps and Legends by Michael Chabon

Steve
The Hippos Were Boiled in Their Tanks by Jack Keroac & William S. Burroughs
Epileptic by David B. (graphic novel)
Andy Warhol, Prince of Pop by Jan Greenberg

Elizabeth
Await Your Reply by Dan Chaon
Thirst by Ken Kalfus (This would be Elizabeth’s stronger vote!)

Karaann
The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho (fiction)
The Film Club: A True Story of Father and Son by David Gilmour

Monica
An Arsonist’s Guide to Writers’ Homes in New England by Brock Clarke (oops I think that’s fiction)
Another Bullshit Night in Suck City: A Memoir by Nick Flynn

Rosie
7 Deadly Wonders – Matthew Reilly (fiction)

Heather
The Glass Castle by Jeannette-Walls

 

On another wonderful note: Steve has received training on the new  Louvre & the Masterpiece exhibit at the MIA. Karaann has suggested that we tie in a book club with a visit to the museum and ask Steve be our tourguide. Although, they have the headphones you can rent too. The exhibit goes until January 10, 2010 and is worth the visit.  It costs a fee to enter on every day but Thursday evening. However, I think this is such a brilliant idea that perhaps our December book idea could be free floating as in we each pick a book ( fiction or non) having to do with art, preferably about a piece or an artist connected to the museum and we have our January meeting/December book discussion at the museum.

Whoa!  Brilliant!

 

Comments on: "Housekeeping for Hotties" (6)

  1. Brill! Let’s go to the museum!

  2. I know!

  3. love the idea of the muesum. and Thursday evenings work for me. (WOW-there’s a shocker in itself)

    Half-Broke Horses-by Jeannette Wallis

    I have read The Glass Castle, and that would be my pick except for the fact I have already read it. GREAT BOOK–HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
    I’m hoping Half-Broke Horses is half as good!!!

  4. Love the museum idea!!

    My Nov. votes are:
    Hippos Were Boiled in Their Tanks
    and
    Another Bullshit Night

    Also, I went out and got Push before I go see the move. Totally recommend it. Very quick read. I think it is one of those stories you have to experience straight from the author before you see the movie

  5. Museum? Yes!
    Here is my vote:
    1) Glass Castle
    2) Maps and Legends
    3) Film Club

  6. jenny mcnamara-robinson said:

    I am reading Push right now, too…I’m excited for the movie to come out!

Leave a Reply

